The Diesel Stop banner

Non-turbo IDI vs. PowerStroke vs. 460 gas?

51K views 27 replies 13 participants last post by  moosiah 
#1 ·
Hi Guys!

I'm glad I found this site, as I have a truck purchasing/ownership dilemma. Hopefully my ignorance does not get me flamed...I'm brand new to diesels, but a long time FORD lover.
I have found the truck of my dreams (not really, but in my price range) that I'm considering buying. It's a 92 F350 with 358k miles and from southern KY, so it is virtually rust free and in shockingly good condition body/frame wise.

My question concerns its 7.3 non-turbo engine. Is there a significant difference in performance, fuel mileage and longevity between the old IDI engines and the PowerStrokes? Can an OEM/aftermarket turbo be installed relatively inexpensively on the IDI, or should I continue looking for a newer PS equipped model?
Please don't laugh for asking this, but is a rebuilt 460 swap a straightforward enough process to be worth my while if the old engine is tired, or is that a cardinal sin if one already owns a diesel powered truck?

My dad had an identical truck with the 460, and hated the fuel mileage but loved the BB power. I wonder if the cost of repairing/maintaining an IDI or PS is worth any advantages held by the increased mpg? Seems to me, the horsepower and torque numbers for non-turbo IDI and 460 gas are virtually the same. So where are the "felt" differences.

Thanks for indulging me! :thumbsup:

See less See more
#2 ·
The 7.3 IDI is unbeatable for reliability, longevity, durability, and ease of repair. It's not a speed demon but I doubt it would ever leave you on the side of the road. Even if it does, as long as you have a simple set of tools you should be able to get going good enough to get to to the nearest service station.

#3 ·