The Diesel Stop banner

DT466

58K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  Markinter 
#1 ·
I'm looking for some input and advice as I am new to this type of vehicle. I'm purchasing a 99 international 4700 with a dt466, 210 hp with a fuller 6spd, and 34,000GVW (yes heavy specs for a 4700) it has 115k miles and is a penske box truck that i'm having a dump body installed.

I've heard many good things about the 466 and this is mainly how I made my choice. I will mainly be hauling construction debris with the occasional lod of stone, dirt, asphalt and towing a full size backhoe occasionaly, will the 210 hp be enough? and are there any good international web sites that can help me with service and repairs.

thanks
fred

#2 ·
My buddy has a 200 HP DT444 in his box van. He pulls a D-5 sized dozer with it, and it seems to do fine. It slows down on hills. The torque on it is 600 ft lbs. That is the one you need to be worried about. HP does very little for big, heavy, long pulls. Torque is your friend in that case, so see if it has good torque. I'd buy it as long as the truck looks okay...

#3 ·
[ QUOTE ]
I'm looking for some input and advice as I am new to this type of vehicle. I'm purchasing a 99 international 4700 with a DT466, 210 hp with a fuller 6spd, and 34,000GVW (yes heavy specs for a 4700) it has 115k miles and is a penske box truck that I'm having a dump body installed.

I've heard many good things about the 466 and this is mainly how I made my choice. I will mainly be hauling construction debris with the occasional load of stone, dirt, asphalt and towing a full size backhoe occasionally, will the 210 hp be enough? and are there any good international web sites that can help me with service and repairs.

thanks
Fred

[/ QUOTE ]

Check my signature? If you don't want it PM me I'll buy it. And don't shorten the wheel base yet till you sell it to me!!!

#4 ·