The Diesel Stop banner

1999 F250 7.3L 2wd to 4wd

28K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  Uncle_T 
#1 ·
Hi, first post so i hope i dont mess this up

I recently just bought a 99 7.3 supercab shortbox for a great price
I had been looking for a 4wd but had no such luck finding one with such low km's

back on point, ive been doing my homework into converting it over and I just have a few more bugs i need to work out
I'm currently a 2nd year apprentice so I feel im capable of doing the work

I just want to make sure everything is a go before i begin

I have a twin I beam front end, As far as i've looked into I'll be looking for

A Complete solid front axe, (3.73) with a pair of leafs, a transfer case(electric shift) mainly because for some reason i already have the dash switch
New front and rear drive shafts

I've been trying to trace down wiring diagrams to see about the plug to the t-case aswell as my dash,

I had someone swear that its not possible, but after a few conversations with the local ford service mechanics, They said no such thing

I'm just looking to make sure I'm in the right direction, if this is possible and what else i might be in store for

Thanks

See less See more
#2 ·
You'll have to change the output shaft and rear cone on the tranny to install the t-case adapter and t-case. I believe the auto tranny has to either come apart completely or you'll have to swap the complete tranny to the 4x4 version. I think the rear of the manual tranny can be changed without a complete disassembly.