The Diesel Stop banner

Racor water\fuel separator-filter

2K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  uloadit 
#1 ·
Does anybody use a Racor filter\separator w\heater here? Just want to see if anybody had good\bad experiences with these. Picked one up on Ebay so I could get rid of the Stanadyne one. And are they a pain to install? Thanks

#2 ·
I have been using the 645 with a heater for the past 5 years and I like the unit. I installed it in the location of the stock separator and the only problem that I had was trying to use the filter wrench on it. I solved this by using 8 large washers as spacers between the filter-head and the firewall, 4 on each bolt.

#3 ·
What racor unit did you get? One that bolts on to the original header like the ones here DIS or some other unit like Joe Mc did? The answer may make a difference. I'm running the spin on with drain bowl from DIS and like them. Good insurance since I run biodiesel mostly and buy Diesel#2 when I muist from the cheapest avaiolable source. The fazctory system really isn't adequete especially with the water sep. bypassed /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/biggrin.gif

#4 ·
the one I picked up mounts in the same spot the fuel filter is now. I have to bypass the existing separator. Also I have to tap into the wiring for the heater to work. Hopefully the directions will be idiot proof. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/biggrin.gif

#5 ·
This is probably teh one I have. I ignored the fuel heater and WIF light deal. Just keep an eye on the drain bowl every couple of weeks. No real need for a fuel heater in Florida!

#6 ·