***NOTICE*** New site look and software upgrade Feedback Thread - Page 4 - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
News, Comments, Site Help and Suggestions Discussion of TheDieselStop.Com itself. What do you like or don't like, kudos and complaints, comments and suggestions.

 12Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #46 of 60 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
Community Manager/Admin
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
AG Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ford_doctor View Post
Got it on the bookmark. Got some more feedback for you - less opinionated this time. I tried accessing the forums on my iPhone 6 and the forums display nicely - and without an app! But, the header is light tan and the text in the header is white making the lack of contrast nearly impossible to read the text. I am not familiar with vbulletin software and if you have a separate CSS file for the mobile version but you should take a look at this and see if it can be changed - text to #000000
Can you grab me a screen shot of what you are seeing?

Jeff

Jeff
Community Manager
AutoGuide.com

If you need Admin assistance please post here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AG Jeff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 60 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Community Manager/Admin
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
AG Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill1013 View Post
I wish the forums had the "Auto save". There has been for me to many times when I would preview a post, especially when uploading a pic to make sure I had the correct pic. then when returning to it, if I hit the wrong button, all my previous typing has disappeared. I'm a hunt and punch typer, slow but sure.
Tell me about it I am 6 foot 275 lbs with sausage fingers, I look like an ape on the keyboard. LOL

Just try the back button instead of refreshing and most of the time it will keep the content.

Jeff

Jeff
Community Manager
AutoGuide.com

If you need Admin assistance please post here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AG Jeff is offline  
post #48 of 60 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 12:20 PM
Lifetime Supporting Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
bugman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gypsum, Co
Posts: 7,473
My Photos: (12)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill1013 View Post
I wish the forums had the "Auto save". There has been for me to many times when I would preview a post, especially when uploading a pic to make sure I had the correct pic. then when returning to it, if I hit the wrong button, all my previous typing has disappeared. I'm a hunt and punch typer, slow but sure.
I have learned over the years with computers that before you start to do anything else on them, even on the same pages to save your work or you are going to loose it. You can save it as simple as highlighting it and then clicking copy with your mouse. Then if it disappears off of the screen you can just right click the mouse and paste it back onto the screen.
AG Jeff likes this.

96 F250 PS XLT 4X4 long box, 5sp,4.10, manual hubs,pyro+boost guages, Dark Toumaline, add a leaf, Dale's TYMAR, and HX hose, downpipe, coolant filter, Luk clutch
bugman is online now  
 
post #49 of 60 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Community Manager/Admin
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
AG Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugman View Post
OK,

The first two screen shots are off of the "Classic" skin.
In the gray tool bar you will see no "Tools" heading but it does have "Quick Links"
But when I open the Quick Links in the Classic mode there is no link to the old "Links" page

The next two screen shots are off of the new forum skin.
In the gray tool bar it does have the "Tools" heading and then after clicking on it you can to to Quick Links and then to the Links page for the old information.
Ok, I got it. You want to be able to access the older links in the classic skin.

Should be able to get that up for you by next week.

Thanks for the info and followup,
Jeff

Jeff
Community Manager
AutoGuide.com

If you need Admin assistance please post here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AG Jeff is offline  
post #50 of 60 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
ford_doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NJ Native
Posts: 3,785
My Photos: (1)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I hope this comes out... White text on tan at top
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1445644227349.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	8.6 KB
ID:	80970  
ford_doctor is offline  
post #51 of 60 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
bluefishbeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Alabama
Posts: 208
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
All the avator's were marked with a triangle and explanation mark Had to got back to the classic.

Running window 10 64bit.

1993 F250 7.3IDI Turbo (factory) 2X4 ZF5 4.10 Diff, Floating axle, Extended Cab Long Bed ZeeDee running boards, 185K miles, Second Owner

1999 Victory V92C Overdrive Sprocket, Power Commander, High Compression Pistons, Performance cam. Slash Cut pipes, Corbin Seat, Factory windscreen, Highway bars.

*Commercial pilot and certified aircraft mechanic by choice, Ford mechanic by necessity*

Most iconic aircraft ever built? Ford Tri-Motor of course!! Take a virtual tour
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bluefishbeagle is offline  
post #52 of 60 (permalink) Old 10-26-2015, 10:57 AM Thread Starter
Community Manager/Admin
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
AG Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ford_doctor View Post
Got it on the bookmark. Got some more feedback for you - less opinionated this time. I tried accessing the forums on my iPhone 6 and the forums display nicely - and without an app! But, the header is light tan and the text in the header is white making the lack of contrast nearly impossible to read the text. I am not familiar with vbulletin software and if you have a separate CSS file for the mobile version but you should take a look at this and see if it can be changed - text to #000000
Quote:
Originally Posted by ford_doctor View Post
I hope this comes out... White text on tan at top

Thanks for the info opening a ticket.

Jeff

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefishbeagle View Post
All the avator's were marked with a triangle and explanation mark Had to got back to the classic.

Running window 10 64bit.
Can you grab me a screen shot of what you are seeing?

Jeff

Jeff
Community Manager
AutoGuide.com

If you need Admin assistance please post here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AG Jeff is offline  
post #53 of 60 (permalink) Old 10-27-2015, 02:02 PM Thread Starter
Community Manager/Admin
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
AG Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOSPARKPLUGZ View Post
It needs some getting used too, but i do like the older style, displaying the older powerstrokes 6.0's, 7.3, OBS 7.3, and a 6.4 on the top of page. I also like how the supporting member "stars" badge used to show up. I do like the garage feature. And mentioning feature.
They are back!

Thanks,
Jeff

Jeff
Community Manager
AutoGuide.com

If you need Admin assistance please post here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AG Jeff is offline  
post #54 of 60 (permalink) Old 12-04-2015, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Community Manager/Admin
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
AG Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ford_doctor View Post
Got it on the bookmark. Got some more feedback for you - less opinionated this time. I tried accessing the forums on my iPhone 6 and the forums display nicely - and without an app! But, the header is light tan and the text in the header is white making the lack of contrast nearly impossible to read the text. I am not familiar with vbulletin software and if you have a separate CSS file for the mobile version but you should take a look at this and see if it can be changed - text to #000000
We will have an update for this next week...

Standby for update.

Case #: 1664364

Jeff

Jeff
Community Manager
AutoGuide.com

If you need Admin assistance please post here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AG Jeff is offline  
post #55 of 60 (permalink) Old 12-15-2015, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
 
ford_doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NJ Native
Posts: 3,785
My Photos: (1)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mobile style much improved! Looks good.
Administrator likes this.
ford_doctor is offline  
post #56 of 60 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 02:34 PM
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
Administrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,072
My Photos: (7)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
awesome. Please keep on providing feedback

Lee


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Administrator is offline  
post #57 of 60 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 03:56 AM
Senior Member
 
dieseldogtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 335
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have had nothing but a major slow down since (IIRC) the hack a few months back where we all had to update our passwords. I use Firefox on a laptop & desktop. There is plenty of memory and ram and cache and anything else on the laptop so that's NOT the issue. I HAVE cleared the cache & history. No improvement. There is ABSOLUTELY NO REASON anyone should need to "try using another browser" If tey are already on Firefox or IE.
The idea that I should download & install CHROME to fix this is nuts! That's not the answer. I have also tried going to the "classic version". No joy.
No computer expert here but it's hard for me to understand people that say they think it's loading a (little bit) faster. They likely already have very speedy connections.
I don't know exactly what my connection speed is but it's the same as it has been since this slow down. If I had to guess I would say there is a lot more adds and (behind the scene) activity loading than there use to be. Just switching between threads now takes an estimated 20 seconds. NO OTHER SITE I use regularly that is similar to this one gives me this trouble (slow down). Certainly not the other major diesel sites. Aviation based sites. eBay or Amazon... It's a long list and they ALL load fairly quick (including adds). You've really messed up my experience with thedieselstop.com!
DDT


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2003 E-350 7.3 Turbo. Last of an era. Almost completely STOCK 80,000 Easy Miles and Leaking Oil. AIH Delete. Resonator Box Delete, CCV Mod. Thank you Ford for making Quality Job Number One. NOT!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dieseldogtom is offline  
post #58 of 60 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 08:32 AM Thread Starter
Community Manager/Admin
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
AG Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieseldogtom View Post
I have had nothing but a major slow down since (IIRC) the hack a few months back where we all had to update our passwords. I use Firefox on a laptop & desktop. There is plenty of memory and ram and cache and anything else on the laptop so that's NOT the issue. I HAVE cleared the cache & history. No improvement. There is ABSOLUTELY NO REASON anyone should need to "try using another browser" If tey are already on Firefox or IE.
The idea that I should download & install CHROME to fix this is nuts! That's not the answer. I have also tried going to the "classic version". No joy.
No computer expert here but it's hard for me to understand people that say they think it's loading a (little bit) faster. They likely already have very speedy connections.
I don't know exactly what my connection speed is but it's the same as it has been since this slow down. If I had to guess I would say there is a lot more adds and (behind the scene) activity loading than there use to be. Just switching between threads now takes an estimated 20 seconds. NO OTHER SITE I use regularly that is similar to this one gives me this trouble (slow down). Certainly not the other major diesel sites. Aviation based sites. eBay or Amazon... It's a long list and they ALL load fairly quick (including adds). You've really messed up my experience with thedieselstop.com!
DDT
Sorry to hear about the problems.

Can you try this Speed Test and post the results to narrow down the issue?
Speedtest.net by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test

You can also make sure you are logged in for less ads and try turning off the sidebar in the User CP.

Thanks in advance,
Jeff M

Jeff
Community Manager
AutoGuide.com

If you need Admin assistance please post here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AG Jeff is offline  
post #59 of 60 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
dieseldogtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 335
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Down speed = 3,53 Mbps
Up speed = .42 Mbps

While those might be very low numbers...Remember, They are the SAME numbers
I had 4 months ago or so when your site seemed to work correct for me.
ALSO please read AGAIN about the MANY other sites I visit with this very same
connection speed and stuff loads up just fine. No long 20 second lag between simply
switching from one thread to another. Or on initial log in to Forums page.
I know about all the "easy"{ suggestions you guys make to people...
Clear cache & cookies. Use a different browser. Try classic version...
Guess those are the reasonable things to ask someone to do before
anyone really gets to involved with these issues.
This test was done on my desktop unit so I don't know if that causes slower speeds
than my laptop would. I use a 4G T-Mobil HotSpot unit. I also am aware that every time
I run these speed tests, That they just can't wait to tell me how far below the "National Average"
for speed I am. Because they want to try to sell me a better connection OR pay to have a
"scan" that will supposedly fix all my problems and increase my speed by 60%!
I know it's true because they print it right there in big BOLD letters right after the speed test!
I'm SURE they are not trying to sell me something just to make money. Nobody would do that, Right?
There are PLENTY of FREE scans & File cleaners out there and I think (most) of them do a pretty good job
of detecting files to eliminate and clean up. CCleaner comes to mind. It might be the free version but my
understanding is that it works pretty good for folks that don't (REALLY) need a "professional" version.
Maybe you can tell me what those numbers mean?
I am certain you will tell me that their so low value is likely the issue with my slow page load times.
Then I will ask, "What about 5 months ago when I had the same numbers, server, 4G Hot Spot, T-Mobil...?"
I am going to try to post this now but will probably be told I have been logged out & need to sign back in.
Why would your site log someone out while they are typeing in the reply text box?????????
YEP! It logged me out. Had to log in again to post this message.
Seems like a pretty useless site design feature? Any explination as to why it does this?
AG Jeff likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2003 E-350 7.3 Turbo. Last of an era. Almost completely STOCK 80,000 Easy Miles and Leaking Oil. AIH Delete. Resonator Box Delete, CCV Mod. Thank you Ford for making Quality Job Number One. NOT!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by dieseldogtom; 03-15-2017 at 11:29 PM. Reason: jdfyjykgfk
dieseldogtom is offline  
post #60 of 60 (permalink) Old 03-16-2017, 09:30 AM Thread Starter
Community Manager/Admin
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
AG Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 59
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieseldogtom View Post
Down speed = 3,53 Mbps
Up speed = .42 Mbps

While those might be very low numbers...Remember, They are the SAME numbers
I had 4 months ago or so when your site seemed to work correct for me.
ALSO please read AGAIN about the MANY other sites I visit with this very same
connection speed and stuff loads up just fine. No long 20 second lag between simply
switching from one thread to another. Or on initial log in to Forums page.
I know about all the "easy"{ suggestions you guys make to people...
Clear cache & cookies. Use a different browser. Try classic version...
Guess those are the reasonable things to ask someone to do before
anyone really gets to involved with these issues.
This test was done on my desktop unit so I don't know if that causes slower speeds
than my laptop would. I use a 4G T-Mobil HotSpot unit. I also am aware that every time
I run these speed tests, That they just can't wait to tell me how far below the "National Average"
for speed I am. Because they want to try to sell me a better connection OR pay to have a
"scan" that will supposedly fix all my problems and increase my speed by 60%!
I know it's true because they print it right there in big BOLD letters right after the speed test!
I'm SURE they are not trying to sell me something just to make money. Nobody would do that, Right?
There are PLENTY of FREE scans & File cleaners out there and I think (most) of them do a pretty good job
of detecting files to eliminate and clean up. CCleaner comes to mind. It might be the free version but my
understanding is that it works pretty good for folks that don't (REALLY) need a "professional" version.
Maybe you can tell me what those numbers mean?
I am certain you will tell me that their so low value is likely the issue with my slow page load times.
Then I will ask, "What about 5 months ago when I had the same numbers, server, 4G Hot Spot, T-Mobil...?"
I am going to try to post this now but will probably be told I have been logged out & need to sign back in.
Why would your site log someone out while they are typeing in the reply text box?????????
YEP! It logged me out. Had to log in again to post this message.
Seems like a pretty useless site design feature? Any explination as to why it does this?


Have you tried clicking the "remember me" box when logging in and are you on a pop up blocker or any type of Private or incognito broswer?

Here are some other suggestion that might help speed up the PC.
10 Tips to Speed Up Windows 10 | PCMag.com

Jeff M

Jeff
Community Manager
AutoGuide.com

If you need Admin assistance please post here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AG Jeff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > General Discussion > News, Comments, Site Help and Suggestions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome