AirBag - Suspension Components - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Wheels, Tires, Brakes, and Suspension Discuss your wheels, tires, brakes & suspension topics here.
Sponsored by Discount Tire

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-29-2017, 07:05 PM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
AirBag - Suspension Components

Greetings fellow SuperDooties

So I've recently upgraded from a 2012 F250 to a 2014 F350 Dually, great truck and pretty darn good deal I think. It came with a Firestone load leveling airbag kit. I'm new to these airbags and fiddled some with it, but unfamiliar with this set up so I'm extra cautious. Hoping ya'll could educate me on a few items.

I've located the PSI gauge in the truck with 2 pressure switches, one for left rear and one for right rear. Also located the air reservoir for the system, the small motor (connected to aux switch in cab) and the air inlet at the rear of the truck.

1. Silly question I'm sure but what is the motor for? Is this an onboard air compressor possibly? If I air up the system at the tail of the truck, that fills the reservoir right? Then if I go into the truck cab and push the switches on the PSI gauge, that allows the air to go from the reservoir to the bags themselves and I can visually see the rear of the truck rise. So...if it is an air compressor, I suppose its so I can add air to the reservoir independently? Meaning without outside compressor assistance? Or I guess air my tires if need be. What do ya'll think?

2. Probably another goofy question but when I bleed the air from the airbags by using the switch in the cab, does the air bleed out or transfer back to the reservoir for future use? I wasn't sure if by bleeding air and essentially lowering the rear, I would be forced to use an outside compressor to refill the reservoir and give me the option to raise it up again later.