The Diesel Stop banner

Maintenance time, suggestions and comments please.

33K views 288 replies 19 participants last post by  bbasso 
#1 ·
So... in the next few weeks I want to start doing some maintenance on my 7.3 PSD. A mere... 124,000 miles on the 2001.

I know I need all the ball joints, brake pads- which would you suggest? (I'm a slow and careful driver that doesn't tow anything.)

Water pump and all the coolant system hoses and?

I 'should' replace my oil pan, it was badly dented before I bought the Van, but hasn't leaked or caused a problem... But is there a larger capacity or an oil pan that would be better than the stock?

I'd very much like to do both UVCHs and possibly the glow plugs while there?

Now here is a few Q's for you...

Is there any parts that I've mentioned that could be possibly upgraded (such as better quality/performance/MPG) AND are there other parts that I should strongly consider while I have it apart?
Is a HPOP something I should replace? if so what with?
Transmission service, is it as simple as drain and fill? or should I upgrade is some way?

Since so few parts are "cheap" I've already started to save some $ and I'm betting I'll need a lot more $$$ LOL

My new job (as mechanic) allows me all the tools and machines at my disposal after hours, so I'll be doing all the work myself. :thumbsup:

thank you for tossing some knowledge my way!

See less See more
#2 ·
Ball joins, get moog with grease fitting. I've found them cheapest on ebay.

Break pads, get the EBC Green Stuff Brake Pads. Excellent performance with minimal squeal.

The oil pan, you sure about that? I've never worked on a PSD in the van, but pretty sure it's just like the IDI where you have to pull the engine to get it off. If it's not leaking I would just leave it. Other wise it's pull the engine and then you may as well do a whole other laundry list of items while it's pulled.

#4 ·