Warm up time? - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > 2011 and Up Ford Super Duties > 6.7L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain

6.7L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain Discussion of the 6.7L Power Stroke diesel engine and drivetrain in the 2011-Up Super Duty trucks. No gas engine discussion allowed except on transmissions and drivetrain that pertain to all models. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 6.7L Power Stroke engine.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2011, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Warm up time?

I'm new to Diesel motors, this being my first. I've owned plenty of turbo gas motors and have always religiously let them warm up and cool down. I've noticed that this 6.7L motor is VERY slow to warm up. For a test, I remote started the vehicle and waited 10 minutes (time out of remote start, as currently set) and the temperature of the oil and coolant has barely risen at all. This was a 40 degree morning. Now I'm not going to warm up my truck that long, just silly. So what is an acceptable length to warm up the truck for? I understand dont drive aggressively until it is up to temp but how long should I let it warm up before going into drive?

I also wonder how long it takes the oil to completely circulate too, in order to ensure everything is getting adequate lubrication? I had a motorcycle once that took over 45 seconds before the cams had a descent lube supply going to them......

Thanks!
Keith
kereams is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-21-2011, 04:53 PM   #2 (permalink)