Sirius XM Radio stopped working - Diesel Forum -
'11-Up General Questions General questions related to 2011-Up Super Duty trucks. If it doesn't fit the other categories, post it here. Gas engine discussion that pertains to all models is allowed. Specific gas engine questions should use the Gas Engines forum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 11:20 AM Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sirius XM Radio stopped working

Thursday, driving down the road.. radio flashed Subscription Update, and cut out. Called Sirius, they tried multiple resets.. nothing. I cant get the preview on channel 184 to work either. Tried several resets from Sirius, etc, to no avail.

Anyone else's radio go out after this Sirius update? They said I should take it into the dealership.

Anyone had problems like this before?
xyzzy is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
jss35lksa's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 215
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nope. I've had XM then Sirius for many years. Never had that issue.

My `08 Super Duty would be playing normal then stop and say ACQUIRING SATELLITE for a few seconds and then start playing again. This would happen with absolutely no obstructions overhead, Even driving down an interstate. I took it to Ford asking them to check the antenna connection. They said all was OK. My `12 works fine.


2012 F-450 Lariat. Golden Bronze over Beige. 25K Ford (Reese) 5th wheel hitch, Pace-Edwards Full Metal JackRabbit cover, Grover Stutter-Tone Air Horn.
Full time RV'er Pulling a Newmar 5er weighing in just under 18K.

Last edited by jss35lksa; 05-11-2013 at 04:54 PM.
jss35lksa is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-12-2013, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 201
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Me too exact same issue, happened last Thursday, got the subscription message then about 6 hours later got the Channel unsubscribed or something with green ok button. Sirius now locked up on that screen cant change channel. Going to pull fuses and see if I can get it to work after boot.
Stsmark is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-14-2013, 02:24 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SiriusXM Help

Hi everyone-

If you're experiencing your radio not updating, could you please send us an email with your contact information to, so we can help with this.

In the email, please include the name on the account, a phone number, or email address we can reach you at, and the model and year of your vehicle.

SiriusXM Digital Care Team
SiriusXM is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-14-2013, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
jriltex's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aubrey, Texas
Posts: 140
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check this forum as there have been several instances of this happening. Some required radio replacements via FORD while others, if I recall correctly, had a module replaced. Anyway it can be frustrating. Good luck. My radio had to be replaced and all has worked fine since then.

2011 F-350 Lariat FX4 Crewcab, SRW, LB Two-Tone Golden Bronze Metallic/Pale Adobe Metallic, Adobe Leather Interior, 6.7L, 3.55 elocker, 20" Michelin LT275/65R20E Tires, 11500# GVWR, Lariat Ultimate Package, 5th Wheel Prep Pkg, Engine Block Heater, ARE Tonneau Cover, Tailgate Step, Universal Garage Door Opener, Upfitter switches, Navigation Radio, Ranchhand Bumpers front and rear, Ford Vent Visors
jriltex is online now  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-15-2013, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 201
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I took mine to a local dealer and they disconnected the batteries and rebooted the truck. We were then able to reactivate and all is working.
Stsmark is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-12-2015, 04:40 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
'13 F-250 Sync frozen in the middel of a Sirius Update

Has anyone else had this problem? I have called Sirius 3 times and all I get is folks in the call center who know nothing.

Any help would be appreciated.


Carlser is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-12-2015, 06:59 PM
FordIVTteam's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 43
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Originally Posted by Carlser View Post
Has anyone else had this problem? I have called Sirius 3 times and all I get is folks in the call center who know nothing.

Any help would be appreciated.


Hey Carlser,

Let me know which system you have and I'll be happy to provide you with some troubleshooting steps: How to identify your SYNC version | SYNC Help | Official Ford Owner Site



p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordTrucks @Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-2015, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
Sloo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 172
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have had this happen 3 times on my 2011. The first time I called Sirius and they had to shut down the entire radio and and reboot it. Sending a refresh signal did not work. The second two times they said there was nothing they could do and told me to take it to the dealer. After arguing and asking to speak to Sirius supervisors, they finally did the same process (shut it down and reactivate) for it to come back.
Do not let them tell you take it to the dealer for a new radio! It can be fixed via Sirius customer service with persistence.
Sloo is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-18-2015, 12:26 AM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Helotes, Texas
Posts: 37
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes...Sloo is correct. Happened to mine awhile back and it took about 6 or more times of cycling the key on/off and the rep trying the reset from their end. It took about 30 minutes on the phone with the tech but finally got it back. It's been fine since then. Now if something else is going on that is more complicated with a might need to be looked at at a higher level.


2011 F250 King Ranch Crew 4x4 Short Bed, White/Gold
kenval is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-21-2015, 11:56 PM
Senior Member
rforsythe's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 206
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This happened to me around the same time as the OP, something was wrong with the OTA update they pushed. FYI you can just pull the SYNC fuse from the panel in the passenger-side kick panel and reset the unit that way without having to disconnect batteries and reboot everything else too. It just takes a minute to do.

2013 F350 Lariat 6.7L, CC LWB SRW, Ruby Red with all the trimmings.

Recovering former 6.0L owner (2005 Lariat).
rforsythe is offline  
Sponsored Links

  Diesel Forum - > 2011 and Up Ford Super Duties > '11-Up General Questions
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Forum - forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome