2005 6.0 Upgrades? mpg and horsepower? - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > 1999-2007 Ford Super Duties > Upgrades and Aftermarket - 6.0L Engine

Upgrades and Aftermarket - 6.0L Engine Upgrading or adding OEM or aftermarket equipment to your 2003-Up Super Duty or Excursion with 6.0L Power Stroke diesel engine. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 6.0L Power Stroke engine.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2009, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2005 6.0 Upgrades? mpg and horsepower?

I'm new to the diesel world and I have a stock 2005 f-250 6.0 extended cab lariet 4x4 with around 100k miles on it. I am looking to do some upgrades to it. I want to get good gas mileage and more power out of it. I want to do an exhuast (turbo-back but not sure what size?), intake (k&N???), and programmer(superchip or sct?) to start but I'm open to any other upgrades. Anyone have suggestions?
emhowi0104 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-14-2009, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)

Congrats on the purchase....

Exhaust - Most people go for a 4inch turbo-back, MBRP makes some great units.

Intake - Stay away from them. The stock unit flows more than enough air than you will need unless going to serious HP. Plus the filtration of the stock unit is top notch.

Programmer - They put out tons of power but can easily cost you tons in repairs. If you go with a programmer be prepared to do head studs since the stock TTY bolts tend to stretch under the increased HP.

I am sure others will be more knowledgeable than me and give more advice....