Damaged fuel filter cap - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > 1999-2007 Ford Super Duties > 6.0L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain

6.0L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain Discussion of the 6.0L Power Stroke diesel engine and drivetrain in the 2003-Up Super Duties and Excursions. No gas engine discussion allowed except on transmissions and drivetrain that pertain to all models. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 6.0L Power Stroke engine.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2009, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cool Damaged fuel filter cap

Hello all. Newbie here. Just signed up, and think I'll be looking and learning a lot on this forum.

I just changed my 2 fuel filters yesterday, and while I didn't have much trouble with the chassis mounted filter, I wound up damaging the plastic cap on the one in the engine compartment. I put my 1/2" drive handle in the cap recess to unscrew, and broke off half the plastic. Now I'll need a new cap. Anyone know an alternative to Ford for a replacement? Is there such a thing as an aftermarket cap?

Also... the lower fuel filter cap, I didn't have socket large enough so used an oil filter wrench to remove. Anyone know the socket size?

Thanks,
YV
yellovette is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2009, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)

Don't know of any aftermarket caps but, I would try a local International truck dealer because some times they are cheaper on compatable parts! Also the lower filter cap takes a 36mm socket. Good luck!
Old 03-26-2009, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)