remove air from fuel lines? - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > 1999-2007 Ford Super Duties > 99 & up 7.3L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain

99 & up 7.3L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain Discussion of the 99 & up 7.3L Power Stroke diesel engine and drivetrain in the 1999-Up Super Duty trucks and Excursions. No gas engine discussion allowed except on transmissions and drivetrain that pertain to all models. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 7.3L Power Stroke engine.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2008, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
remove air from fuel lines?

I have a 02 f-550 with a 7.3L Im new to diesels, so I'm going to need some help here. The truck was running fine, then all of a sudden, it was hardly running. Ford changed the fuel filter, and air filter, ran good. Now one month later, its doing it again. I got a fuel filter to do it myself. I took the old one out and the gunk build up inside the can was nasty. I think its rust from my tank. I cleaned it out, installed the new one. IT was hard to get started, but i got it. BUT, it runs just like it did b4 i installed the filter. I think theres air in the fuel line and i have no clue how to get it out. I looked all over google and cant find crap. And i how noowners book. Please help. Like i said, im new to diesels, so a step by step walk through would be great.
rusher75 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-06-2008, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)

The fuel gets recirculated through the tank return line and excess air just goes to the tank. No need to purge air, it does it by itself.