The Diesel Stop banner

Total Tranny Fluid Dump

2K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  chuckster57 
#1 ·
So I was pulling my Toy Hauler from Tucson to Phoenix (around 180 round trip) The truck seemed to be kicking down out of overdrive and I could not maintain 65mph. The gas milage was horrible to say the least. Tranny temps were in the norm a couple of times the engine ran warm but not horribly bad. When I pulled up in front of the house, I noticed a HUGE puddle. Now being that this is Arizona, I thought it was condensation from the AC. BOY was I wrong. It had dumped every ounce of tranny fluid. I put in 3 qts to see if I could find where it was leaking from. Best that I could guess was the bottom of the bell housing. It drives fine and has not leaked a ton of fluid again. PLEASE tell me what could have caused this? I am reading all kinds of maybe's but I am a diabled vet and working on a tranny is not something I want to do. :) Help pointing me in the right direction and how to diagnose the issue would be GREATLY appreciated!!

Hoooah!
Frank

#2 ·
Sounds like you just paid your dues to join the tranny puked club. Couple of questions:

Do you have a tranny temp gauge? Did you have to "jog" the trailer when you got it home? How hot was the ambient temp?

When you are parking a trailer and you have to go from FWD to REV a few times and your not moving very fast, the tranny fluid will get hot and the front seal will get limp and "puke" fluid. Mine did this in July '09 in Bull Head City, while I was trying to put my 5er in my buddies front yard. I lost a little over a qt. Ambient temp was 123 degrees. Replaced fluid and it hasn't lost a drop since.
Once things cool off the seal will "grip" again and stop fluid loss.

#3 ·