Low Fuel Milage with 7.3. Upgrades? - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > 1999-2007 Ford Super Duties > Upgrades and Aftermarket - 99 & up 7.3L Engine

Upgrades and Aftermarket - 99 & up 7.3L Engine Upgrading or adding OEM or aftermarket equipment to your 1999-Up Super Duty or Excursion with 7.3L Power Stroke diesel engine. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 7.3L Power Stroke engine.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2005, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Low Fuel Milage with 7.3. Upgrades?

I am new to the 7.3 Powerstroke. I have a 2002 F350 4x4 Crewcab. I tow, plow, some highway, and local driving. I keep being told that I should be around 20+ mpg & have herd of some at 23. Currently I am getting about 12 (the best I have gotten was 15). When I tow or plow, it drops into the single numbers.

I was told it already has the 4" exhaust and turbo upgrade (don't know about the chip). I put in a K&N Filter when I got it 3 months ago. I currently have 39K miles.

What can I do to increase the milage? How can I tell if I do have the chip & turbo upgrade? There are no other upgrades and all else is stock.

I am loosing money in fuel [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]

Thanks for any help.
Jim
(Maine)
jbennett is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-15-2005, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)

Re: Low Fuel Milage with 7.3. Upgrades?