Tony Wildman Chip Problem - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Power Strokes 1994-1997 Upgrades and Aftermarket Upgrading or adding OEM or aftermarket equipment to your 1994-1997 Ford F-Series with Power Stroke engine.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 12:45 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tony Wildman Chip Problem

1995 F350 7.3 Power stroke Diesel Engine Problem - YouTube

I have installed a Tony Wildman Chip in this truck. The Truck is a 1995 F350 7.3 Power Stroke with a 5 speed standard. The Truck has 310,000 Km and is in fantastic condition. When the chip is not installed the engine runs great with no problems at all. However, once I plug the chip in, the truck romps as per the attached video. If I rotate the clicker on the switch to the High Idle position hence increasing the engine RPM the engine will stop romping and will settle down to its proper idle rpm once I return switch position to any other position other than high idle. My other alternative to stop the engine romping is to push the throttle down to increase rpm for approx 1 or 2 seconds and then let my foot off the accelerator and the engine will settle down and the romping will stop. Once I have the truck idling properly which takes all of a couple seconds the truck will drive proper with no further problems. If however, I shut it off and then immediately re-start the engine the truck will romp and I have to go through the same sequence to get it to settle down again. I have swapped out the Fuel Control Unit but the truck continues to romp immediately after the start. We have just installed a new fuel pump but the truck continues to romp. Does any one have a fix or suggestion for this problem. Thanks for your comments.
grummen goose guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
BadDogPSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Reno, NV USA
Posts: 879
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have you called Tony?

2013 F350 CC LB Lariat 4x4
BadDogPSD is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 439
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds like your chip is in the "extreme" position. Try it on another setting. Why injectors do you have?

1997 F250 Crew Cab Short Bed 4x4 Auto 4" skyjacker lift 130K Dana 60 Front 4" Straight pipe lost kitty 5" Silverline tip Factory Alcoas on 315/75/16 All Terrains

http://community.webshots.com/myphot...ecurity=XaZGam
Got4wd is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-03-2012, 03:12 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They are stock injectors. The truck romps on every chip setting ... except for the high idle ppsition. A mechanic friend of mine says it needs more fuel ... to turn up the idle ... can I do this with a 95 7.3. Can i turn up the idle?
grummen goose guy is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-04-2012, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
BadDogPSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Reno, NV USA
Posts: 879
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by grummen goose guy View Post
They are stock injectors. The truck romps on every chip setting ... except for the high idle ppsition. A mechanic friend of mine says it needs more fuel ... to turn up the idle ... can I do this with a 95 7.3. Can i turn up the idle?
No, you can't turn up the idle, but Tony and change the idle rpm by adjusting the chips programming. Pretty much the only adjustment you can do is the fuel pressure. Check the pressure at the schraeder valve on the drivers side of the fuel bowl. You want it to be 55-60 lbs. If it's less, you can pull the regulator and shim the spring using a BB (or something similar).

2013 F350 CC LB Lariat 4x4
BadDogPSD is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-08-2012, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
dieselcamino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 634
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just got my new Wildman chip in the mail as well, it too romps at idle in every setting at start up for a few seconds, now my truck wont run at all with the chip installed

1996 f-250 PSD xlt single cab longbed
Tymar intake/Tymar Hpx line
custom 4 inch turbo back side pipe
swamps injectors
wildman 6 pos. chip
87' king pin d60
35" bfg mtr km2 on american racing rims
-Bio-diesel ready-

dieselcamino is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-08-2012, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
1dieselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Page, AZ
Posts: 514
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you positive that you got both sides of the pcm connector perfectly clean before plugging in the chip?

Jack
97 F250 XLT CCSB 4x4, Dana 60 swap, custom built E4od, Baby swamps, 1.0 turbo housing, deleted ebpv, 203* t-stat, high pressure X line, Diy 140v Idm, 6.0 fan, Diy 6637, tunes by Dp tuners, Isspro Ev gauges, Diy intercooled, 3" downpipe 4" exhaust, 6" lift, 4:10 gears, 35" tires, 315,000 miles
1dieselman is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-22-2012, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I sent the chip back for a reflash. Anxiously await it's return.
grummen goose guy is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-20-2012, 11:36 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got my chip back today with the reflash and the truck has stopped its engine romping problem. So ... Here is my conclusion . You cannot install a chip tuned for an automatic transmission into a Manual truck of the same year without a reflash to change its computer tune. It took 2 months for the chip to return with the reflash. It was a long wait but I am happy for the new tune.
grummen goose guy is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-22-2012, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
BadDogPSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Reno, NV USA
Posts: 879
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by grummen goose guy View Post
I got my chip back today with the reflash and the truck has stopped its engine romping problem. So ... Here is my conclusion . You cannot install a chip tuned for an automatic transmission into a Manual truck of the same year without a reflash to change its computer tune. It took 2 months for the chip to return with the reflash. It was a long wait but I am happy for the new tune.

That's correct, the tuning is different for auto's & manual transmissions.

Glad you got it worked out!

2013 F350 CC LB Lariat 4x4
BadDogPSD is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-31-2012, 10:09 PM
Senior Member
 
DavidD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville,SC
Posts: 220
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Atleast your problem was resolved I installed 1 of tony's 6 position chips last oct left 3 messages never got a return call. My issue is in any chip position my glow plugs do not come on anymore.

93 F-250 7.3L XLT Extended cab 2wd 235K Auto.
95 F-250 PSD XLT 4X4 E4OD Tony wildman 6pos chip, Custom intake,pillar Gauges
89 F-350 7.5L 5spd Dump
96 F-350 PSD 5 spd Dump
99 F-350 PSD 5 Spd Dump
96 IH 4700 DT466 7Spd Dump
2002 Isuzu NQR Dump was a box until I solved that problem.
DavidD is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-01-2012, 12:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 1,291
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just so you know and it's not an excuse,Tony's daughter is ill and he is buried.

Rusty

1997 F250 CC, SB 4x4, 220,000 miles, 7.3 PSD, E4OD, 3.73 gears, Kingpin Dana 60, 10.5 rear, True-trac, Sky 3" RSK, D-code spring in front, B-codes in back, F250 blocks
rusty1161 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-01-2012, 02:36 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's an interesting comment because my glow plugs don't seem to be working properly either. I just thought I needed new ones. This new problem has begun immediately after installing my re flashed trip. Will it correct itself if I pull the chip out?
grummen goose guy is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-01-2012, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenville,SC
Posts: 220
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If I pull the chip out they work like they always did before.

93 F-250 7.3L XLT Extended cab 2wd 235K Auto.
95 F-250 PSD XLT 4X4 E4OD Tony wildman 6pos chip, Custom intake,pillar Gauges
89 F-350 7.5L 5spd Dump
96 F-350 PSD 5 spd Dump
99 F-350 PSD 5 Spd Dump
96 IH 4700 DT466 7Spd Dump
2002 Isuzu NQR Dump was a box until I solved that problem.
DavidD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > Ford Diesels > Power Strokes 1994-1997 Upgrades and Aftermarket
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome