The Diesel Stop banner

Upgrades to a '97 F250 7.3L Turbo Diesel

4K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  madpogue 
#1 ·
Pre-warning you may have seen this considering the fact i accidentally posted it in the wrong area, Sorry.

Hey guys I'm new to this form, so sorry if I'm not the most knowledgeable person. I would like help on What After market parts I should get for the 1997 Ford F250 7.3L that I will be buying. I was reading and the things I saw where Like the CFM+ Intake Manifold and 4 in. down pipe, and then some random things like injectors and a new turbo and other things like a 6 position chip. Also a added piece of info is that the truck as of now does not have a transmission... I am looking for things that will put pep in its step but also will have good fuel mileage and I would also like to know how much it would be to put a 6 in. lift on it and after that what size tires I should use. This is all just to get down a price for how much I will have to save. Thank you all so much and if you have any questions feel free to ask.

#2 ·
Lift and/or big tires = worse fuel mileage.

Sounds like your first step is to get the tranny back in and get it running.

Welcome to TheDieselStop :)

#3 ·
Thank you and I don't really know but is there like any performance trannys so in the future if I do get a Performance chip It wont be the weak link

#4 ·
You can get a HD rebuilt tranny from Ford (I'm assuming it's an automatic) or you can go with one of the aftermarket tranny builders like Brian's Truck Shop in Alabama, or John Wood in Southern California.

#7 ·
If I found one at a junk yard could I possibly rebuild it? Or would I need to buy an entire new one?

#6 ·
Thats the thing. its at my grandpas shop but I dont believe it has one in it at all thats why they are selling it to me for cheaper.

#8 ·
If it's an auto tranny truck (look for the column mounted shifter) it'll be an E4OD, if it's a manual tranny truck, it'll be a ZF-5.

Most likely an auto tranny.