1989 Ford 7.3L Diesel Engine - proper way to bleed fuel lines - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > Ford Diesels > 7.3L IDI Diesels (Not Power Strokes)

7.3L IDI Diesels (Not Power Strokes) Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2010, 07:36 AM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unhappy 1989 Ford 7.3L Diesel Engine - proper way to bleed fuel lines

Hello,

I have a 1989 Ford E350 with the 7.3L Diesel engine. I am a Diesel newbie, so here is what I did.

I replaced the Fuel Filter in the Fuel/Water separator. Unfortunately when I went to start it up after the filter replacement, I left the water separator drain "full open" instead of "closed".

I then started the engine, it ran for a few seconds and then died. When I stepped out of the truck to take a look there was diesel fuel pouring out of the drain tube.

I then quickly closed the drain and tried to restart the van. It would not start after repeated attempts. By this time the batteries were low and I am recharging them now.

I am thinking I now have air in the lines, so I need to bleed the fuel system. Based on what I have read on the forum, It looks like I need to:

1. Purge air from the filter by cranking the engine while pressing the "Schrader valve" on the top of the Fuel/Water Separator until a strong stream of diesel squirts out.

2. If the above does not work, Loosen one or two of the metal injector fuel lines by 1/2 turn and crank the engine until strong stream of diesel squirts out with no bubbles in it. Then tighten them back up and try to start it.

I do have a few questions on the above:

1. Does the above assessment sound right?