The Diesel Stop banner

1994 F250 7.3 IDI Turbo

43K views 6 replies 7 participants last post by  c_grimpe 
#1 ·
Hello::ford::ford:

Looking to buy a 1994 F250 IDI factory turbo, 7.3L, E4OD automatic, 3L55 rear end gear ratio with 170,000 miles.

My questions are only for this truck and I want to do what ever is reasonable to get the best MPG.
Today, in Houston Shell stations on I-45, diesel was $351.9 per gal and gasoline was $3.01 per gal. Today a friend of mine in rural Texas paid $3.79 per gallon. Does any one think diesel prices will fall below gasoline prices again?

Because I am new to diesel, I have a few questions:

1. Is this a pretty good truck? I am told that in 1994, the three choices were:
A. IDI 7.3 non-turbo.
B. IDI 7.3 turbo.
C. DI 7.3 powerstroke.

2. Turbo. Can anyone help me understand what the turbo does--increase HP, increase Torque, and increase MPG. How many MPG increase will a IDI Turbo have over a IDI non turbo? Now, I am not considering 1994 7.3 Powerstroke.

3. Turbo. What effect does a bad turbo have on a truck?

4. Turbo. A Ford partsman told me a new IDI Turbo would cost about $850.00. How many hours would it take to install it?

5. Turbo. Is it cheaper and easier to rebuild a turbo or doe it take many more hours?

6. Injection Pump. Can it be manually adjusted to increase MPG like the old 6.9L ?

7. Injection Pump. Can a remanufactured Injection Pump increase MPG? A Ford parts man said it would cost about$575.00.

8. Rear end Gear ratio. How many more MPG should I get with this 3L.55 versus the 4.10 rear end?
I am a conservative driver in city and on highway.

9. Fuel Injectors. Would new injectors increase MPG?

Any help will be apprecited.
Thanks,
Pat1920

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to TDS........ You sound like you spend a lot of time leaning on the Ford parts counter. There are many fine suppliers for replacement parts at reasonable prices that Ford would bend you over the counter for.