How often do you change your oil? - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > Ford Diesels > 7.3L IDI Diesels (Not Power Strokes)

7.3L IDI Diesels (Not Power Strokes) Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2010, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How often do you change your oil?

How often do you change the oil on your 7.3 IDI? Regular or synthetic? I'm fairly new to a diesel truck, and have owned mine for about two years now. I've always used regular Castrol oil with a quart of Lucas and changed it every 3000 miles. I understand that diesels are generally "dirtier" than gas engines, but the oil in my truck turns black after just 2000-3000 miles. I see guys putting 10,000 miles on between oil changes, is this normal? Does the dark oil matter? My truck only has 80k on it, and I'd like it to go 300k. How often should I change the oil if I'm using regular? Thinking of switching over to synthetic. How often then?

Thanks!
31" bfg all terrains
Just rolled 100k original miles
nbkr341 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-27-2010, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)

Pretty sure the manual states that you should change about 3000, less if you really abuse it. If you want to go longer, you could always get a viscosity test done on your oil to determine if its still maintaining the right thickness (somebody back me up on this).