The Diesel Stop banner

Rough Idle?

39K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  nhwrench 
#1 ·
My truck seems to be idling a little rougher than it has in the past. It's a daily driver, some smoke on start-up and just a little when run past 2400 rpm. I use Power Service or Seafoam in every other tank, so I'm not thinking the injectors are dirty, but I guess they could be. I had a new injector pump put on a while back, could this have anything to do with it? It has idled just a little rougher since then, took it back to Ford and they said nothing was wrong. I've lived with it a while but now it seems to be getting worse.

Truck just rolled 100k a couple months ago. Any thoughts?

#3 ·
Thanks Drinky!

Sorry if this gets wordy, just trying to describe what is going on as best I can. I'm a college student who loves his truck, but I'm certainly no mechanic.

When I'm on the pedal everything is smooth, but at idle the whole truck shakes. The truck seems to run ok and I've only felt like it would stall a couple of times. Just gave it some pedal and back to normal. The truck shakes at idle, I can look over and see the top of the passenger seat vibrating back and forth. Sometimes when starting off from a red light or a stop sign, I'll give it pedal and it seems to hesitate for a second or two before it kicks in and the tach goes up. I usually get a puff of white smoke at start-up and just a little bit of constant smoke at idle.

My first thoughts were dirty injectors and an improperly installed/adjusted injector pump? That's all I've got.

#4 ·