Gravity feed for RDS fuel tanks - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > Ford Diesels > Towing and Hauling

Towing and Hauling Towing and hauling with Ford diesel trucks and vans.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2005, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gravity feed for RDS fuel tanks

I have been evaluating inbed fuel tanks for my new 2005 F350 Powerstroke. I discussed the setup from Northern Tools with the factory at RDS. The technical guy I talked with recommended that they have a new gravity feed installation that has some special valve that will not allow the OEM tank to overfill. He took quite a bit of time to describe the installation and I must admit it sounded very interesting. The cost for the gravity feed kit was $60 dollars plus UPS shipping. Does anyone have any information about the RDS fuel tanks quality? Has anyone heard of this kit RDS is starting to sell?

2005 F350 Lariat Crew LWB, Line-X, B&W Turnover ball with the Companion fifthwheel hitch
toolfan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2005, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)

Re: Gravity feed for RDS fuel tanks

I have a 90 gal. tool/fuel combo made by RDS. I bought it new and installed it in the fall of 2000. I was very dissapointed in it for several reasons.

The fuel pickup was mounted in the front left corner. This caused it to suck air when the tank was still 2/3 full going up a 4 percent grade. RDS told me to bring it by (900 miles from home) or ship it to them at my expense and they would inspect it. Both of the options were unacceptable to me so I fixed it by installing my own homemade pickup.