International 4700 DT360 - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > Other Topics > General Diesel

General Diesel Discussion about diesels in general. All brands are welcome, please refrain from brand wars. Discussions about types of diesel fuel also go here.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2009, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
International 4700 DT360

Hey guys.. this is my first post and I know that this question has been brought up.. sorry about the newb questions, but I'm new to this all.

How do I get a little more power out of my DT360 engine? I understand that if I'm looking for a lot more power then, I need to swap out to a DT466. Would that be a direct swap.. would there be any major modifications involved?

It's a 1992 International 4700 with an automatic transmission. I know it's an allison transmission and it only has three gears. Does anybody know if there is another Allison transmission that I can swap out with that has more gears so I can go faster than 60 MPH? It was really emabarrasing being passed by everyone while I was trying to get this truck home. It was running at 2800 RPM's and maxed out on the floor at 60 MPH. I figured I need more gears if I were to go any faster..any ideas? All I'm looking for is between 65-70 MPH..

Anyway. Thanks for your help..
Jake4700dt360 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-27-2009, 10:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Supporting Member

My Photos: (44)
More gears won't help unless one of the gears is an overdrive.