losing coolant - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Ford Diesel Forum / Powerstroke Forum
Go Back   Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > 2008-2010 Ford Super Duties > 6.4L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain

6.4L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain Discussion of the 6.4L Power Stroke diesel engine and drivetrain in the 2008-Up Super Duty trucks. No gas engine discussion allowed except on transmissions and drivetrain that pertain to all models. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 6.4L Power Stroke engine.

TheDieselstop.com is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
losing coolant

I have been losing coolant for about 4 years now. It comes from the cap on the degas bottle, bout once a month i put about 2 qts in it. Ive replaced the cap and it still does it. Does anybody know what could be causing it. Ive read all over about radiator leaks and hose leaks and orings but I have had none of these leak. It only comes from the cap. Ive tested the air in the degas bottle for diesel exhaust with a blue point test kit and its been negative everytime. I bought this truck new in 4/2007. Its a job 1 and I did the venturi hose kit when it first came out and Im still running with original radiator. I have 61k miles. Any help is appreciated. Thx
Advertisement

Old 11-19-2012, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Head gaskets leaking/head studs stretching.
foreman1063 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)

2nd that. Could also be EGR cooler.
Doubletap is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)

No exhaust gases in the degas bottle. Not a headgasket issue.