The Diesel Stop banner

Rough running when cold...normal?

3K views 21 replies 7 participants last post by  Ford06 
#1 ·
I'm pretty new to the 6.0's. I picked up an 05' F250 several weeks ago, and drove it to work today for the first time. The temps are down in the high 20's/low 30's. I went out at lunch time and fired it up to go grab a bite to eat. I didn't let it warm up for a few minutes like I usually do. It ran pretty rough and jerky for a few minutes until the thing started to warm up. Is that normal for the 6.0's? It wasn't blowing any smoke, it just ran rough and was a little down on power. After a few minutes everything was back to normal and it was running nice and smooth again.

I'm running 15w-40 Motorcraft oil. Would I be better running a 5w-40 when the temps are like this? Or should I just make it a habit to let it sit for a few minutes and idle to warm up before I try to drive it anywhere?

Just trying to see if that's normal cold behavior for ht r6.0's....or if I have an injector issue or something.

Thanks!

#3 ·
I'm planning on changing the oil tonight. Rotella T6 5w-40 and adding 64oz of HSS stiction eliminator. I'll let you know how it works out.

#5 ·
Please don't use stiction eliminator. Many of those additives contain higher levels of chlorine, which cause excessive wear on the cam and internal components due to corrosion. Fully synthetic motor oil is the best option, just dont add anything else. If the temperatures are low, use 10w-30 oil designed specifically for diesels. Above 32, use 15w40.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

#4 ·