Drilled and slotted rotors? - Page 4 - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Wheels, Tires, Brakes, and Suspension Discuss your wheels, tires, brakes & suspension topics here.

Forum sponsored by: Discount Tire

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #46 of 48 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 01:00 AM

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
.... which is why I asked for things like SAE papers that can be freely published (well, with a download fee). Heck, at this point I'd be happy for magazine tests. And no disrespect to you, FMTRVT, but I don't know you from Adam, being a noob here and all. Your previous post in this thread seems well thought out, but then you make a big error like saying that a WRX hoodscoop isn't functional. How do I know you know what you're talking about (you undoubtedly do, but without hard numbers to validate, I'm wary of accepting general statements of fact). So, again, if you do know of any links to publishable hard data on the effects of slotting on brake output, particularly in wet conditions, it'd be greatly appreciated. Engineering white papers would be best, but anything would help. I did find this paper but it is more of a survey than an experimental results paper. Perhaps the references will be useful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #47 of 48 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:44 AM

My Photos: (16)
Good luck with those SAE papers. Info that gives a company a technical advantage is never going into an SAE paper. Honestly there are lot of science projects that are never put into papers, and companies for the last decade really have cut back not only on presenting papers but attending the events. The SAE Brake Colloquium is held in the fall and you can read through the presented papers list, past and present.