Lift, tires, light question - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Wheels, Tires, Brakes, and Suspension Discuss your wheels, tires, brakes & suspension topics here.

Forum sponsored by: Discount Tire

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-11-2012, 02:26 AM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lift, tires, light question

Ok guys forgive my ignorance here but I'm new to diesels and new to any type of automotive upgrading.... I grouped all my questions in here so I don't start 3 threads.

I just bought an 01 f250 7.3l lariat and love it. So far it's got

5" turbo back exhaust
F6 dp chip
Isspro gauges
K&N filter

That's about as far as I think I'm going engine wise for a while, and the rest of my play money I want for a lift, tires and lights...

The stock leaf springs are completely flat in the front, so they definitely need to be swapped....
As far as lift I'm looking at 4 or 6 inch lift, don't want to go any higher. I'd like to play around a bit offroading and such and would like to get a quality lift kit.
I looked at the fab tech performance 6 inch kit, like 1600 bucks. Here's my question- the other kits I looked at came with leaf springs and shocks- this one comes with shocks and springs. Again forgive my ignorance but do the springs replace the leaf springs or what? Anybody have any reccomendations for a reasonably priced kit for me? Will be needing new leaf springs as well

Tires- well I don't have much tire knowledge, current size is 30 inch, I'd like to go to 35, and I'd like a mean looking tire that will last and be good in mud sand but also be my daily driver and towing tires so I need to compromise. I'm getting about 22mpg (and haven't installed the chip or exhaust yet!) and don't want to sacrifice too much mpg