The Diesel Stop banner

6.7 deleted tuner

10K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  ACD2 
#1 · (Edited)
I have a 13 superduty with a 6.7. I bought it used already has an egr, dpf, and def delete but I don’t know who did, what tune, or if the computer was just flashed. I am looking into getting a tuner to improve fuel mileage and a little power boost. I’m interested in the sct Livewire but just wanting to know if that is the route to go and if it is a mistake given I don’t know how it was deleted?

#2 ·
Well, I hesitate to reply, but no one else has assisted. I hesitate because I have limited knowledge. First, you should make every effort to get in touch with the person from whom you bought the truck. There should be a 'Load Me First' program or something similar that programs the PCM for the deletes. After that, you program your tune, and the trucks stock program is stored in the tuner, you may need that in the future. If the PCM is flashed, it will return the truck to stock and it will not run with the deletes. Anyway, that's my limited knowledge and I may be off on a few things.

#3 ·
Not too many people like the LiveWire but run what you want. It is already tuned, but that's not any issue. Your "new" tuning device should be just fine to use as it will "think" the current files are "stock" so it will replace them with the new tuning files.

If that doesn't suit you, find a shop with a Ford IDS device. Make sure they program the truck with the Ford "As built files". This will return the truck back to OEM files, to which you will just overwrite with the new tuning device.

#4 ·
Thanks Heavy, I learned a couple things of things today.

Reactions: HeavyAssault
#5 ·