'2006 6.0L stalls when cold - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
6.0L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain Discussion of the 6.0L Power Stroke diesel engine and drivetrain in the 2003-Up Super Duties and Excursions. No gas engine discussion allowed except on transmissions and drivetrain that pertain to all models. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 6.0L Power Stroke engine.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-31-2018, 06:44 PM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
'2006 6.0L stalls when cold

Hello all! Newbie here. Have been checking other threads to see if anyone has this problem. Looks like most have a tuner kit of some sort so I have to ask this here.

I have recently purchased a 2006 F350 6.0 4wd dually to haul my car to the track. I used to own a 2000 F250 with the V10 that I sold to pick up the dually. The F350 has 126,000 mile on it and it is stock except for a dealership done EGR delete performed before I bought it.

The problem I am having is that it has started to stall out when cold. Either when I put it into gear, or as I come to a stop. Just dies right off. The idle is at about 650. I tried to use the block heater to fool it into thinking it was warmed up, but no luck. I have recently replaced the FICM ( which was a plug-and-play-already-flashed) and have taken it to my local Ford dealer to have it re-flashed as well. Still have the same problem. The dealer re-flashing changed the driveability of the truck, and the MPG as well (for the better), but it still stalls when cold. After driving ( and restarting a 1/2 dozen times ) it will run just fine, and stop just fine.

Should I replace the PCM? Should I seek out a diesel tuner to adjust the cold idle? Keep away from the dealer who offers no help?? I love this truck and this is driving me nuts.