The Diesel Stop banner

Orange/Red spillage from degas.

11K views 49 replies 7 participants last post by  Boomer Pledge 
#1 ·
Hey guys so I am new to diesels and recently purchased a 2004 lariat 6.0L
I looked online and didnt find this issue, so i am sorry if this is a repeat.
When i purchased it I did the temp test between the engine coolant and the oil. It never got greater than 5 degrees. Temps reached to about 180-185F.
I opened the oil cap and there was no blow back.
At the time there was no residue on the degas cap.
So I thought the truck was in decent conditions. besides the Ac not working.
I drove the truck for not even half a tank of gas and then i went to do my weekly fluid check that i usually do to my car and now truck as well. When i opened the hood there was a red/orange overflow around the degas bottle and inside it was like a dried up powder.
I was freaking out that the head gasket might be bad.
I was told it could be the degas cap.
I recently got a scangauge 2 that i will be running the temps to make sure they do not vary more than 15 degrees.
Should I just get some motorcraft coolant fill it back up (since its empty) and replace the cap?
Should I be afraid to drive it 500 miles on a road trip unloaded?
Has anyone run into this issue or know what it can be?
Any help or direction would be appreciated.
I uploaded pictures to show the problem.

Attachments

See less See more
#29 ·
When you let that sit, does any of it layer out?

What kind of smell does it have?

I don't like running completely up to temperature with only water. You get more rust formation that way.

#30 ·
And the waterpump is not getting the benefite of the lubricant in the coolant.

#31 ·