The Diesel Stop banner

Over Boosting 6.0

2K views 25 replies 7 participants last post by  droberts101@msn.com 
#1 ·
I have a 2003 1 ton dwd with 6.0. I am having an issue with over boosting and is to be causing High EGT. At 70 mph the boost is at 20 lbs of boost and EGt is 1100 degrees. Cruising at 2000 RPM is has 900 degrees plus and over 10 pounds of boost. I have pulled turbo and clean and the vanes function correctly. I replaced the VGT solenoid and it help a little. I have replace MAP sensor and made vac line was clean. I am stumped at this time and looking for advise.

#4 ·
I live on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. There are no grades here. Before this started I would cruise at 8lbs of boost and EGT would be around 700. There are no tunes except 40 HP FICM tune that I have been running for 5 years with no problem. The motor is fully Bullet Proofed and there are no head gasket or injection issues.

#6 ·
Since there is no official definition for "bulletproofed". Could you be more specific? Do you mean that your EGR is deleted? If so, what kind of delete do you have? I assume it has head studs. How about the exhaust? Stock? Still have the Cat?

#7 ·
EGR delete, Bpd remote oil cooler, and arp studs. this is an 03 and I have the Dieselsite high volume high pressure pump, BPD replacement fan. Plus many additional mods for reliability.

I am not not getting any readings on Scangauge for BARO. Does anyone know there the sensor is located in a 2003.

Thanks for any help

#8 ·
The Baro is under the dash on the drivers side.

#9 ·
On your scangauge ----
Barometric Pressure (PSI)
TXD: 07E0221442
RXF: 046285140642
RXD: 3010
MTH: 001D0050000
NAM: BAR

#11 ·
Do you still have a catalytic converter?

#13 ·
I can't imagine one w/ the CAT removed.

#15 · (Edited)