Rough running when cold...normal? - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
6.0L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain Discussion of the 6.0L Power Stroke diesel engine and drivetrain in the 2003-Up Super Duties and Excursions. No gas engine discussion allowed except on transmissions and drivetrain that pertain to all models. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 6.0L Power Stroke engine.

7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-23-2018, 01:50 PM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Rough running when cold...normal?

I'm pretty new to the 6.0's. I picked up an 05' F250 several weeks ago, and drove it to work today for the first time. The temps are down in the high 20's/low 30's. I went out at lunch time and fired it up to go grab a bite to eat. I didn't let it warm up for a few minutes like I usually do. It ran pretty rough and jerky for a few minutes until the thing started to warm up. Is that normal for the 6.0's? It wasn't blowing any smoke, it just ran rough and was a little down on power. After a few minutes everything was back to normal and it was running nice and smooth again.

I'm running 15w-40 Motorcraft oil. Would I be better running a 5w-40 when the temps are like this? Or should I just make it a habit to let it sit for a few minutes and idle to warm up before I try to drive it anywhere?

Just trying to see if that's normal cold behavior for ht r6.0's....or if I have an injector issue or something.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-23-2018, 10:33 PM

Sounds like stiction to me, I had that when I first bought mine (2012)and then switched over to Rotella T6. Since then I replaced all of the injectors. A lot of folks have used Hot shot with some success
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-24-2018, 07:55 AM Thread Starter