The Diesel Stop banner

2000 f250 7.3 just clicks

4K views 34 replies 9 participants last post by  Randy 4614 
#1 ·
Ok so hopefully someone can help with this I have a 2000 f250 4wd that just clicks when trying to start it both batteries are newer and have 12.5v coming from them with the terminals off and 12.4 on the wire with terminals on I replaced the solenoid switch on the fender and put a new starter in and nothing still just clicks at the starter I checked all the fuses and relays all checked out good I’m not a mechanic but I assumed I covered most of the starting portion of the truck I cleaned off the ends of the connections at solenoid switch and starter and battery terminals any ideas Because im lost now.

Also the old starter passed on a bench test but figured had it out put a new one in thought maybe the new one is bad they tested it and seemed fine also

#3 · (Edited)
Could be a bad starter relay:
This is located under the hood on the right-side fender well, above the vacuum reservoir.
When you turn your key, the relay closes and supplies the higher current needed for the starter solenoid (the key energizes the relay, the relay energizes the starter). That may be what you hear clicking when you try to crank. Relay could be bad...

You can jump across the large terminals on the relay to see if the starter will crank (basically bypassing the relay). USE CAUTION if you do this!

Also, what is the voltage reading on the batteries when you're trying to crank it? Should stay above 9-10 volts.

~Al

#4 ·
I just replaced the relay and I’m not sure don’t have anyone to help out with starting it but I Hooked my 16 Cummins up to both batteries with it running and still got nothing I can operate my salt spreader and 8.5ft western plow at the same time off the truck in start position without it running and the battery gauge doesn’t budge

#6 ·
Well, if the relay's good, and it's getting power from the key switch, then sounds like a bad starter.