2001 7.3 starts, runs then shuts down- then restarts - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
'99 & up 7.3L Power Stroke Engine and Drivetrain Discussion of the '99 & up 7.3L Power Stroke diesel engine and drivetrain in the 1999-Up Super Duty trucks and Excursions. No gas engine discussion allowed except on transmissions and drivetrain that pertain to all models. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 7.3L Power Stroke engine.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 12:47 AM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2001 7.3 starts, runs then shuts down- then restarts

I really like the truck I have and with only 80K miles on it I am hoping to keep it going for awhile, but I am about ready to thro in the towel. As I live in Wyoming I can't have a truck quitting me in the middle of nowhere which is most of Wyoming! I am by no means a mechanic, but have a little knowledge.

Here is my issue and what I have done trying to trouble shoot it. Cycle the key, WTS light comes on and truck starts fine. Runs two or three minutes then just shuts down like you shut off the key. Cycle the key, NO WTS light, and no Tach movement. Wait 15+ minutes and starts just fine, then same story!

I placed small wires up from the power out side both on the PCM and the IDM relay so I could use a test lamp to see if the relays were powered. When the engine quits the PCM relay still has power across it. The IDM relay did not have power to the IDM (tried new relay as well) I then placed four wires up from the IDM relay. Of course when the truck is running correctly the IDM has power from the B+, and key power. When the engine quits the ground (IDM-EN wire) that goes to the PCM connector drops off as tested with a test lamp, and then of course no power supplied to the IDM.