The Diesel Stop banner

Engine coolant- What should I do ?

4K views 16 replies 11 participants last post by  ArcticDriver 
#1 ·
I'm still learning about my 2001 7.3 PSD and just discovered the coolant has special needs.

Here is the history : March this year I changed my oem radiator (found a small leak) and just used (I don't know what kind) anti-freeze, .

Now I read that I should have used a special formula anti-freeze :-( But I'm having a difficult time determining which formula/product I need for my particular truck.

Can someone tell me what product(s) I should replace my anti-freeze with ?

I plan on doing the complete flush/fill per the sticky thread by SmokeyWren.

Thanks in advance

#2 ·
You have two options - an extended life Cat EC1 rated antifreeze or a SCA loaded conventional.

With the extended life antifreeze, you can do your flush, fill with 4 gallons of concentrate, top off with distilled water and forget about it for the next decade.

With the SCA option, you can use a pre-loaded like FleetCharge and then maintain the SCA. You'll need to buy test strips, test 3-4 times a year, keep adding SCA to keep the levels right, and you'll need to flush and refill in a couple years. All that and still won't have the protection if you go with the extended life.

So - not much of a choice really. I use Rotella ELC. There are a number of others out there, including Peak FinalCharge which you can get at NAPA. https://www.peakhd.com/product-lines/final-charge/about/

Whatever you get - you have to get 4 gallons of concentrate. Do NOT get the pre-mix.

Reactions: oilcan1001
#3 ·
Thanks RT.
What about..... silica or no silica ?

#4 ·
No silica. All the ELCs should be silicate free anyway, but if they aren't - pick one that is silicate free.

#6 ·
I switched to red ELC about six years ago and could not be happier. Used International's brand and used Gouch's flush method. Replaced it this year again as I had my engine oil cooler rebuilt.