The Diesel Stop banner

Exhaust brakes

2K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  robdog 
#1 ·
My FIL bought my '02. He just acquired a 10k 5th wheel travel trailer and wanted to know if he should look into an exhaust brake.

I seem to remember there not being a lot to gain for an exhaust brake on the 7.3, but am I wrong?

It is a manual 6spd truck and he will be pulling all over CO and beyond.

#2 ·
I have no experience with exhaust brakes, but it the trailer has brakes on it, he'll probably be fine. The 6 speed has better engine braking capabilities than an auto tranny IMO. Others may have different opinions.

#3 ·
I tow a 36' 5th wheel with my 2002 7.3 6 speed. I looked into exhaust brakes, expensive beasts they are. DP-Tuner talked me into trying their tune that allows the use of the EBPV as an exhaust brake. It works well. I can come down Eisenhower and Vail in 4th gear with the EBPV on and never touch the brakes.

#4 ·
Thanks for the comments. I passed them along and he can make the decision from there. If someone has actual exhaust brake experience on the 7.3, I'd still love to hear from you!

#5 ·
I have a PacBrake direct mount on my 99.5 with a six speed. Lots of heavy loads and just a heavy truck, but still have the original brakes at 130000 miles. As long as you are willing to downshift and let the engine spin it works great. The pacbrake that was on my 96 was better, but I had 4.10 gears in it. It also had a nice rumble to it!

#6 ·