2000 F350 Programer Issue?? - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
'99 & up Upgrades and Aftermarket - 7.3L Engine Upgrading or adding OEM or aftermarket equipment to your 1999-Up Super Duty or Excursion with 7.3L Power Stroke diesel engine. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 7.3L Power Stroke engine.

 4Likes
  • 2 Post By RT
  • 1 Post By klhansen
  • 1 Post By bugman
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 09:08 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2000 F350 Programer Issue??

I have a 2000 F350 dually, 2wd. Stock performance wise, except 5" mbrp from turbo back with muffler & 6637 filter. I decided to try a cheap tuner Diablo Predator just for a little extra for towing.
Well it won't load any program because it won't save my stock tune, says possibly because it's not a stock tune? I get error code when I scan: p0603, which from what I researched would confirm I do not have stock tune. ( I believe)

What can I do to figure out what type of tune is in the PCM?

Thanks for the Help!!!
GMKILLER5.0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 09:27 PM
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
klhansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 24,789
My Photos: (180)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
P0603 means that either the power has been disconnected from the PCM or you've used a programmer, which you tried to do.
It could be that the fuse for the Keep Alive Memory circuit is blown and the programmer needs that circuit powered up to be able to load a program.

First truck -- 1929 Model A Ford pickup, restored from ground up. Wish I still had it!
'99.5 F250 PSD Supercab LB 4x4, ZF-6 w/SB Con OFE, 3.73LS, Boost & pyro gauges, Swamps S175/146 injectors, DP 80 HP Econo PCM (classic version
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
), AIS,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
regulated return,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
klhansen is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 09:30 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any idea which fuse that is?

Thanks
GMKILLER5.0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Let's assume the previous owner loaded some sort of tune. What are my options to figure out what it is, or how do I get back to stock to start from scratch?
GMKILLER5.0 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 10:58 PM
RT
Lifetime Supporting Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
RT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 14,356
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The dealer could reprogram it, but if it was me, I'd pull the PCM and send it to DP-Tuner and have them burn the 80 HP econo tune on it. Then sell that Diablo on fleabay to another sucker.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
rv6a and [email protected] like this.

2003 F-250 XLT Crew Cab 7.3L, Chrome BigTex Grille Guard, Quad pillar - 3 ISSPRO gauges (trans, pyro, boost) and DP-Tuner F6; Roush fuel pressure / temperature / oil pressure gauges, Ford Severe Duty AIS, 31 row 6.0 transmission cooler, ScanGauge II, Marinco mod, Walker BTM, Full Force Stage 1 injectors

IF MY BODY IS EVER FOUND ON A JOGGING TRAIL JUST KNOW THAT I WAS MURDERED SOMEWHERE ELSE AND DUMPED THERE
RT is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-17-2017, 11:56 PM
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
klhansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 24,789
My Photos: (180)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RT View Post
The dealer could reprogram it, but if it was me, I'd pull the PCM and send it to DP-Tuner and have them burn the 80 HP econo tune on it. Then sell that Diablo on fleabay to another sucker.
Not a bad idea.
DP-Tuner's 80E tune rocks.

The fuse you need to check should be #15, 5A under the dash.
[email protected] likes this.

First truck -- 1929 Model A Ford pickup, restored from ground up. Wish I still had it!
'99.5 F250 PSD Supercab LB 4x4, ZF-6 w/SB Con OFE, 3.73LS, Boost & pyro gauges, Swamps S175/146 injectors, DP 80 HP Econo PCM (classic version
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
), AIS,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
regulated return,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
klhansen is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-18-2017, 12:06 PM
Lifetime Supporting Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
 
bugman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gypsum, Co
Posts: 8,439
My Photos: (12)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
A problem that I am seeing with programmers is that if you decide to go back to the stock tune that they won't do it or if they do the stock program is corrupt where you need to get the PCM flashed to get it to even work.

I'd also just send my PCM to DP-Tuner and have them take care of it.
[email protected] likes this.

96 F250 PS XLT 4X4 long box, 5sp,4.10, manual hubs,pyro+boost guages, Dark Toumaline, add a leaf, Dale's TYMAR, and HX hose, downpipe, coolant filter, Luk clutch
bugman is online now  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-19-2017, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
69mach1377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ABQ, NM, USA
Posts: 1,593
My Photos: (1)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I suspect someone else's stock tune is already saved in the tuner...

2000 F250 XLT 4x4 SC 7.3 w/rebuilt 4R100, 3 autometer gages, Super Zoodad, PHP Hydra chip, 4" DP/Exhaust w/dual 3.5" outlets, 275/70/18 Kumho AT51s on 8.5" rims, 08 AlumDiffCvr, Bilsteins, 31 row trans cooler, WW, BPV delete, AIH delete, hutch, harpoon and billet FPR (70psi), rear air bags, Jimmijammers.
Jayco 26BHS elite, no RV parks...just the woods, lakes and streams if possible.
See my album for a recent pic.
69mach1377 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
blue99stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: chico, ca
Posts: 2,831
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
80e... nothing like a lot of timing and high Icp lol

Does the programmer say vin locked at all?

The Diablo tunes are ok, pretty rough on auto trans.
blue99stroker is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2017, 07:55 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It does not have another tune in it, it's guaranteed 'unmarried'.

Thanks
GMKILLER5.0 is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-23-2017, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oakdale, CA
Posts: 561
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
We can flash your PCM back to stock or put a tune of your choosing on there...

https://www.dp-tuner.com/ford-powers...nce-flash.html

You may have had a non-stock tune on there already and the programmer cannot recognize it as a stock tune. This happened a lot when Bully Dog programmers were used. Regardless, we can flash it for you though. Even if the PCM was blank.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > 1999-2007 Ford Super Duties > '99 & up Upgrades and Aftermarket - 7.3L Engine

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome