Banks Big Head Actuator - Page 2 - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
'99 & up Upgrades and Aftermarket - 7.3L Engine Upgrading or adding OEM or aftermarket equipment to your 1999-Up Super Duty or Excursion with 7.3L Power Stroke diesel engine. Please confine discussion of topics in this forum to those items that are specific to the 7.3L Power Stroke engine.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #16 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-03-2006, 01:21 PM

My Photos: (38)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: Banks Big Head Actuator

[ QUOTE ]
isn't running all that boost and having the comp not know it bad? I know as far as gas motors go its crutial to up fuel in times of higher boost.. what is teh difference for diesels? I know the mechanics of the engine, as I am a mechanical engineer, but why can you up boost w\o more fuel and or not breaking things

[/ QUOTE ]

You have to let go of that gasser theory. You are correct in gasser worlds, the most dangerous situation is too lean, that is why fuel has to be upped with more boost.

Diesels however accelerate by adding FUEL not air, therefore they need AIR AIR and more AIR. You could say there's really no such thing as 'too lean' with a diesel.

That it's not a major concern to the engine at elevated boost levels. It is set the defuel by the stock MAP limits is for performance/detuning and emissions reasons.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #17 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-03-2006, 01:30 PM

My Photos: (0)

Any one have a link to Dennis
at ITP for the boost regulator
Do I need this mod if I get the
big head actuator my mods are
super chip program Hi per tow
4" turbo back exhaust
K&N intake
ATS housing
thanks for all the help
(in spending more$$$$) [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
post #18 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-03-2006, 01:42 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Any one have a link to Dennis
at ITP for the boost regulator
Do I need this mod if I get the
big head actuator my mods are
super chip program Hi per tow
4" turbo back exhaust