The Diesel Stop banner

Sporadic intermittent vibration at stand still

3K views 16 replies 5 participants last post by  Forester121 
#1 ·
I bought a early 99 7.3 f250 a couple weeks ago and I replaced my injector o rings, glow plugs, and serpentine belt as it was squeaking. There is currently a 50hp custom tune from the past owner. I had my issue even before I replaced these rings. It's hard to explain and only noticeable when the truck is not moving, in park or gear. I do believe that I have a very small exhaust leak towards the back of the engine that must be on the very start of the downpipe.

Onto my issue: When I'm idling at a stand still, there is a vibration that I can hear and feel while I'm in the cab. It doesn't come in any certain pattern. Sounds like "smooth... vibrate vibrate... smooth... vibrate.. smooth smooth... vibrate..."(etc.) Since I'm new to my powerstroke, this could be completely normal, I have no clue. The actual idle of the truck stays undisturbed. I do notice a very slight jump in the RMP's when the vibration occurs. When I'm driving and I coast while barely pressing the accelerator the truck will vibrate as well, but it's consistent and only at a certain depression of the pedal. This vibration is not loud or anything but noticeable for me and my friend to hear/feel.

I can't find a past forum on anyone with this specific issue, but I've read that it could be bad motor mounts, the exhaust touching the tranny cross member bolt (I don't think this would cause a RMP jump), a bad serpentine belt tensioner or alternator.

Are there any other ideas? Like I said, maybe this is normal for the 7.3's. I can try removing my custom tune to see if that solves anything if I can figure out how. Thanks in advance for the help.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
It could be two separate issues.
Do you have the A/C on?
Does it happen even when the HVAC is turned off?
Even the windshield defroster engages the compressor so the dial needs to be OFF to test.