1995 7.3 rough running - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Power Strokes 1994-1997 General Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the Power Stroke engine in 1994 through 1997 models.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 05:17 AM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1995 7.3 rough running

1995 7.3 no mods whatsoever with 111k miles. It will start and run but it runs as if half the injectors aren’t firing and the CEL will come on. It will run that way until I shut it off, which is pretty darn fast as I don’t want to make whatever is wrong worse than it is. I have replaced the CPS, checked the ICP valve for oil in the plug, there isn’t any, and left it unhooked and started the engine but it still runs horrible. I am new to all this so I don’t know where else to start troubleshooting or what I should be looking for. I don’t have a scan tool and I can’t get it anywhere to have someone read the code. The check engine light only comes on if it’s running and I don’t know if that’s how it’s supposed to work or not. Any help is greatly appreciated as this is a family truck and we don’t want to get rid of it and can’t afford to have someone else fix it.

Also the CPS I installed was from NAPA and had the gray body. From what I’m reading people are having trouble with aftermarket sensors so I’ve ordered the dark blue one from International.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 08:44 AM
Lifetime Supporting Member

My Photos: (12)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Without getting the codes read any answer will just be shooting in the dark, and shotgunning parts at is can get real expensive fast.