Best Practices for 1990 F250 7.3L IDI - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
7.3L IDI Diesels (Not Power Strokes) Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 100 (permalink) Old 02-18-2011, 03:18 AM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Best Practices for 1990 F250 7.3L IDI

I am a newbie. I just bought a 1990 f250 7.3 160,000 miles automatic reg cab all stock except 6 in lift. It runs great. I have never owned a diesel vehicle and hope you could help me with general maintenance and things to watch out for. I do have a couple of issues maybe someone can address (or route me to the appropriate forum):

1) power steering seems like it doesn't have enough ps fluid. When I am on the road it is fine, but when I am parking it "jerks" and makes that "squeeky" noise. I check the ps dip stick and it is full.

2) there is a "clunking" sound when I turn to get in or out of my driveway. This doesn't happen over speed bumps or potholes. Most noticeable turning left but occurs turning both ways. Could this be related to the 6 inch lift?

3) since this is a 1990, what should I be doing (if anything) about using ULSD fuel?

4) this truck came with 16.5 inch rims. Is there anything really good about these?

5) any suggestions for fixing/retrofitting the R-12 A/C

Any other suggestions or comments would be most welcome.

Thanks..

Aloha!
1990 F250 XLT Lariat 7.3 auto 4x2
Reg cab 8ft bed
160,000 miles
All Stock!

Last edited by DexInHawaii; 02-18-2011 at 03:28 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 100 (permalink) Old 02-18-2011, 04:12 AM

My Photos: (109)
Welcome to TDS .......

Look at the belt(s) for cracks and shined up, an indication of them being old. The adjustment may be too loose also.