Empty throttle - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
7.3L IDI Diesels (Not Power Strokes) Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-24-2015, 02:14 PM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Empty throttle

Hi I am new to all of this but I have a 93 f350 dually non turbo and a little history here I recently had my lift pump go out and I popped an electric one on for about a week to get me around until I could get the proper one the pressure was a little low which I know is not good for the ip from what I understand but I got the right one on and it worked great for a few days but now it's like the throttle is Empty it runs good for about 10 min of driving but then it just won't get out of its own way it idles great but has no balls at all takes about a minute to get up to 40 and won't go much past that I know I am getting good pressure from the lift pump it just shoots fuel out of the sherader valve when I press it at the filter and when I crack loose each injector oine they all seem about even any advice would be great I am thinking either ip or maybe return lines? What would it act like with bad return thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-24-2015, 06:44 PM

My Photos: (7)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Welcome to the Diesel Stop

Pushing the Schrader valve will verify fuel but it's not an accurate measure of pressure. Take the core out and hook up a pressure gauge, should be 4-6 PSI.

Inspect the fuel line from the frame rail to the lift pump. It may be twisted, kinked or possibly collapsing.

1994 F-350 7.3 IDI Turbo, crew cab, E4OD,4:10 L/S, LB, Dually
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ATS Turbo upgrades: 3" DP with 3" exhaust Magnaflow XL muffler: