Headlight issue- 93 f350 - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
7.3L IDI Diesels (Not Power Strokes) Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-27-2019, 02:02 AM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Headlight issue- 93 f350

Hi,
I'm new to Fords after about 1984, but no stranger to old pickups in general.
While the wife and I were driving home last night after trimming a bunch of horses far far away, we finally got out far enough in the sticks (i.e. close to home) to use the high beams. They came on, blinked a couple times, then went out. Marker lights stayed on. Switched back to LOW and all was well. Switched back to HIGH with the same result as before.

So.... my question is, headlight switch or dimmer switch? Which is more likely? Or should I just replace both?
Headlight switch knob and the bezel behind it were warm (though nowhere near as hot as a couple 1stGen Dodges I've owned through the years), which leads me to think headlight switch, but with it only being a HIGH beam issue, I could see it being a dimmer issue.

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-27-2019, 08:49 AM

I had the same issue a while back. It turned out to be that the connection had simply come loose at the multi function switch. I tightened it up, and stopped the trouble completely. I would start with the dimmer switch, and go from there

1993 F-350 crew cab non-turbo 5 speed transmission
35 years a mechanic on large stationary engines natural gas and diesel fired, and other industrial equipment.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-28-2019, 01:20 AM