Rough starting 1984 F250 6.9L IDI Diesel - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
6.9L IDI Diesels (Not Power Strokes) Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 6.9 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-25-2016, 09:24 PM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Rough starting 1984 F250 6.9L IDI Diesel

Diesel noob here.

Got a rebuilt 1984 250 6.9, turbo I think? for a work truck, runs great when warmed up, but starting her in the morning is a task.

I'm in Portland,OR and lows are around 40 right now. Have block heater but haven't used it yet, did not seem necessary. I won't always have access to electric in my travels so would like to avoid using when possible.

First few days I started it was very rough, 4-5 tries, had plugs on for 30-60 sec. Lots of white smoke out exhaust. But it eventually turned over and ran very smooth all day. Near instant starts after initial rough morning start

Then I left heater on one night, did not realize it was hard wired and drained battery. Charged batteries, then burned out starter trying to turn her over...not fully charged turns out.

Now I have fresh batteries, new starter and alternator. But only way I can get her going in morning is a squirt of starter fluid.
I hear this is very bad from some and nbd from others.

I wouldn't mind changing glow plugs, but hear that may not be issue. Some say it's the actual electrical housing for plugs...or something else entirely.

Lots of opinions out there, curious to hear more. Would like to fix myself if possible and have a reliable starting truck when I'm out in the country hunting, wandering, what not.

Can provide more info and pics as needed. Thanks for any help!

Last edited by Jordansaia; 03-25-2016 at 09:27 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-25-2016, 09:32 PM
Lifetime Supporting Member

Welcome to the Forum.