1Likes
  • 1 Post By Sport45

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-21-2018, 08:31 AM Thread Starter

My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Auxiliary Fuel tanks

Hey Folks,

I am a newbie here. Bought a 2018 F250 Lariat 6.7 recently and am interested in installing an auxiliary fuel tank in the bed.

Couple questions;

Aluminum or polyethylene tank?

Gravity feed system or use a pump?

Should you install a fuel filter on the tank outlet line?

Thanks much
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F250.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	126030  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-25-2018, 08:22 PM

I'm having a 60 gallon RDS toolbox/tank combo (aluminum) in my '19. It'll gravity feed to the main tank through a manual valve. No filter.

I'll be able to tell you how it holds up after a few years.
Phillippeterson likes this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-26-2018, 05:31 PM

Transfer Flow seem to all come with a fuel filter - I'm not a mechanic by any means but looking at it and reading the specs on it from oRileys and Autozone, I almost feel that you'd be as well off with no filter . That said, I'm looking at transfer flow simply because of the in-cab control it provides. HOWEVER, I just saw a post on one of the Montana RV forums where Titan has come out with a pump/controller feature as well. I've not seen any posts for or against it as yet so must be really new. I'm going to have to take a look at it, especially given the price differences I've seen.

2017 F450 DRW 4X4 Platinum - Pearl While - what can I say, just can't stop trading up.
2015 F450 DRW 4X4 King Ranch - way more than I need but couldn't pass up the deal
2012 F350 DRW 4X4
2011 F350 DRW 4X2 (discovered I really used the 4-wheel drive more than I remembered.)

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-28-2018, 05:17 PM Thread Starter