Adding trailer TPMS after the fact - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-24-2018, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 85
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Adding trailer TPMS after the fact

I didn't get the trailer TPMS when I ordered the truck, but kinda want it now. Is it as simple as just getting the sensors and pairing them to the truck or is there additional hardware that the truck needs?

18 F350 Lariat Crew Cab 6.7
BigDaveZJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-24-2018, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Phillippeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Talkeetna, AK
Posts: 574
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Even if you ordered the trailer TPMS when you bought the truck it would still be an "after the fact" option. It comes in a box and you install it. Pretty easy to install. It's plug and play.
Phillippeterson is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-24-2018, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 200
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Phillippeterson: I've got the camera and TPMS sensors still in the box. Please excuse my lack of mechanical skills, but as I recall the instructions, you have to install the cable for the camera for the TPMS to work. I don't need the camera so I've not researched it further. So, my question, do you have to run the pigtail into the truck bed and the transmitter to the pin box, or are the sensors powerful enough to work without those things?

2017 F450 DRW 4X4 Platinum - Pearl While - what can I say, just can't stop trading up.
2015 F450 DRW 4X4 King Ranch - way more than I need but couldn't pass up the deal
2012 F350 DRW 4X4
2011 F350 DRW 4X2 (discovered I really used the 4-wheel drive more than I remembered.)
skypilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-24-2018, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Phillippeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Talkeetna, AK
Posts: 574
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmmm. Me thinks the TPMS sensor is part of the cable. So, you'd need to install the cable. And you don't have to install the camera. I'm not using the TPMS but am using the camera.

Just don't plug in the camera and wrap the extra cable into a loop and zip tie it out of the way.

The cable carries the camera info (which you don't want, so don't plug in the camera) and it carries the TPMS info.

You do need to install the pigtail so the info will get to the truck instrument information.
Phillippeterson is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-14-2018, 07:01 PM
Member
 
User Name's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 40
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'd like to add this too. But I have 3 axle trailer. Not sure they support this ?
User Name is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-11-2018, 12:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver Wa
Posts: 81
My Photos: (0)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Me too but did not have this as an option, If anyone has a broken tail light I need it to get the camera/sensor out and install in my flatbed.
Is there any technical bulletin or info explaining the system and its parts?

2000 350SD, Crew, SRW, 6 speed, custom bumpers, 4" exhaust, Bullydog, Spar Guages.
In possession 2018 450 Lariat Cab-Chassiss, Blue Jean, future 11' Aluminum custom Flatbed, DBL super single 335-80-20 488's 2 1/2" lift all around, electric locker in the front, Airlift bags, on board compressors Sulastics on their way when revision done, bumper TBD

*******SEVERE DUTY********
mcintoshjr is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-11-2018, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Highland, IL
Posts: 586
My Photos: (3)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think the factory TPMS system will monitor up to 3 extra axles IIRC.

2017 F-350 CCSB 6.7L
[old]2002 7.3L PSD, 6spd, 4x4 Off-Road, Super Cab, Short Bed, ARE Topper, SCMT Autometer gauges, Tymar, 4" SS aero-turbine exhaust, & WW.

'73 Bronco 351 SEFI, 35's & Locked!
Jesus_man is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Juzplanekrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riverside Ca.
Posts: 114
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I see the threads a year old. I didn't see a end result.
I'm wanting to install TPMS sensors for my trailer tires as well. I have a 2 axle.
Everything I can find shows you I just have to buy 4 ea part number TPMS47. Install them/Pair them using dash controls and thats it.
I'm not sure what would be need in the cam,tpms set up for the tires.

Anybody just done tires for trailer with only using TPMS sensors.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2017 Ford F-350 Dually 4x4
The Works
Pulling a.....
2019 37' KZ Durango Gold G371 RTL
Connected with a....
Pullrite 20K Super 5th
Going where ever we want.
Juzplanekrazy is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Juzplanekrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riverside Ca.
Posts: 114
My Photos: (0)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So nobody has just tried the TPMS Sensors only? I get the package has a booster of sorts. But can't see it has to be used. Heck if my old TPMS from TST worked with out a booster, these in tire stems sure should at $60-$80 bucks each. I just can't see paying $500 bucks +/- for all that wiring and not need it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2017 Ford F-350 Dually 4x4
The Works
Pulling a.....
2019 37' KZ Durango Gold G371 RTL
Connected with a....
Pullrite 20K Super 5th
Going where ever we want.
Juzplanekrazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com > 2017 & up Ford Super Duties > 2017 & Up General Questions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome