Sled pulling tips - Diesel Forum - TheDieselStop.com
Off-Road Discussions Off-Road, modifications and racing forum. This is for Off-Road racing only, The Diesel Stop does not promote speeding or racing on the street and does not promote tampering with ANY EPA pollution devices for street driven cars or trucks!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-07-2010, 09:33 PM Thread Starter

My Photos: (5)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sled pulling tips

Before anyone attacks me, i did use the search function and didnt find what i was looking for. i tried google and found some, but not all questions answered.

I want to know techniques. I am new to diesels and especially new to sled pulls. My truck is a 2005 F350 with SW CC with a six inch lift. basically stock with a stc livewire, intake, and mbrp 4" stainless turbo back with duals. i only have 35" mickey thompson ATZ tires but i have heard an aggressive all terrain is good. i have been to a couple sled pulls and have seen some guys build boost, some guys roll into it and build as they go. which is best?
a lot of guys have issues with hopping which seems to break stuff. is this controlled by feathering the throttle?
i have air bags in the rear suspension. how high of pressure should i use?
what tire pressure should i run?
im not sure the weight of my truck, but if i have room to add weight, is it best to keep the weight at the back of the box as far back as i can, or directly over the axel?
i have an automatic transmission- what should i do? manually put it in 1st? 2nd? just go with drive? im assuming tow/haul mode is a good idea.
4x4 high or 4x4 low?
what kind of hitch set-up do i have to bring?
some guys rev their trucks up before they stage. why? should i?

the type of pulls i would enter would be small town fall-fair kind of thing, but i do not want to look like an idiot when i go for my first pull in front of hundreds of people that i know. any tips would be greatly appreciated!