The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My father in laws 02 f350 blew a radiator hose and went to overheating as he pulled off to the side of the road. As fate would have it service in my area was down today... I never saw the coolant but he says it was milky. As in there was diesel in it. Could it overheating have maybe warped a cup? of was this probably an ongoing thing that went unnoticed until now?

·
Premium Member
2,197 Posts
i'm not a expert but I know the injector cup can crack and allow the fuel, oil and coolant to get mix.

might be a H/G that failed too.

someone with better knowledge will probably jump in and help/correct me.

will follows this thread crossly

·
Premium Member
15,096 Posts
Very unlikely a head gasket issue. I would replace the hose and fill it with water. Run it until it comes to temp and then sample the fluid in the degas tank. You will be able to see and smell diesel. It will float so you should see it shimmering on top.

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Its diesel ontop of the degass bottle.

·
Premium Member
15,096 Posts
Time to replace the injector cups. Riffraff will rent the tool. You MUST clean the bores to absolute perfection. That requires a lot of scraping and brake clean to get the old Loctite off. I use a boroscope to verify the rear holes are spotless before installing the new cups.

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I feel like I am going to leave this job to a professional then. I don't have the time for a job like this. I didn't know heat could crack the cups like that. I figured brass was to soft for that kind of failure.

·
Premium Member
15,096 Posts
I don't think it's the heat that does it. Probably vibration and combustion forces.

·
Registered
514 Posts
It is the two metals expanding at different rates that cause the crack. Just did my truck a year ago replaced all 8 cups and injector o rings.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·