The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to diesels but needed one. so i got an older diesel just as a cheap work truck, ran great. i have it in my yard running and i flip the switch to use other fuel tank, just wanted to check if it was full or empty, it was empty. then i switched it back over and reparked my truck and now it when i try to turn it over... nuthn. just does the clicks for gp and wont turn over. please say its an easy fix i can do myself. im not even sure if that did anything but flipping fuel switch is only of thing i remember doing... i really need this fixed so i can start hauling stuff.

·
Registered
17,604 Posts
Welcome to the Diesel Stop.

Does the starter turn at all? If not then you need to check the batteries. It takes 2 strong batteries to start a Diesel engine. Take them both out and have them load tested. If one tests bad replace BOTH.

If the batteries test good, then check the connections at the posts for any signs of corrosion. Post back with your findings and we'll go from there.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
i dont hear anything goin on. so id say no starter is not going, and the voltage does seem really low on dash.i just got truck today, and have never had a diesel, so im fairly certain its my fault lol im good with gas engines but that dosent help much haha can i jump it with our minivan or shuld i be patient and go get them tested tmrw

and if they get recharged and there good. and say i put them back and it starts.. then alternator is culprit?

·
Registered
17,604 Posts
You might get lucky jump starting it. Diesel engines develop lots of compression for ignition of the fuel so it takes a STRONG starter to turn it fast enough and that takes LOTS of amps.