The Diesel Stop banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I am completely new to diesels. This will be a complete learning experience. I've worked on cars quite a bit, but nothing with diesels. With that being said, I just picked up a 7.3 NA IDI Rollback for cheap. It needs a little bit of everything.

Runs, drives, revs fine, idles, no knocks, cruised at 60mph

But the damn thing smokes pretty heavy IMO. This happened when cold and warmed up. Drove it about 40 mins. The truck has been roughly sitting since earlier this year so that might have something to do with it. I would say the smoke isn't dark black, not pure white, more of a gray/blue. So I'm assuming oil?

Lots of miles on it. I know the some injectors leak at the o-rings. So it could be something dumb like stuck rings from sitting, doubt it. The smoke kind of reminded me of when a truck has a load and is taking off. Hard to explain. Will try to get a video up o show you guys.

What should I start to look for? Again, I'm an idiot with this thing so let's keep it at idiot level. haha. Thanks for any and all help/suggestions.

·
Registered
34 Posts
First off, I am completely new to diesels. This will be a complete learning experience. I've worked on cars quite a bit, but nothing with diesels. With that being said, I just picked up a 7.3 NA IDI Rollback for cheap. It needs a little bit of everything.

Runs, drives, revs fine, idles, no knocks, cruised at 60mph

But the damn thing smokes pretty heavy IMO. This happened when cold and warmed up. Drove it about 40 mins. The truck has been roughly sitting since earlier this year so that might have something to do with it. I would say the smoke isn't dark black, not pure white, more of a gray/blue. So I'm assuming oil?