The Diesel Stop banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am very new to the Diesel engines. I have the opportunity to buy a 1991 F Superduty DRW with the 7.3 Diesel in it. It has 142000 miles on it. It has a 12 ft flatbed on it. I am wanting a Truck to haul my 8900 lb 5th wheel trailer so I will want to change the bed. I can get it for a low price but is the 1991 7.3 a reliable engine? I have heard nothing but good about the 7.3's but not sure if there were good years and bad years. It says it has 180 hp and 345 ft lbs of torque which I believe would not have a problem pulling the 5th wheel. Anyone have knowledge about this year of engines? I heard Diesels can go 300000 miles. Is this true?

·
Registered
6,680 Posts
Hello, I am very new to the Diesel engines. I have the opportunity to buy a 1991 F Superduty DRW with the 7.3 Diesel in it. It has 142000 miles on it. It has a 12 ft flatbed on it. I am wanting a Truck to haul my 8900 lb 5th wheel trailer so I will want to change the bed.
Sounds like it's broke in good. Don't they have fifth wheels for flatbeds?

I can get it for a low price but is the 1991 7.3 a reliable engine? I have heard nothing but good about the 7.3's but not sure if there were good years and bad years. It says it has 180 hp and 345 ft lbs of torque which I believe would not have a problem pulling the 5th wheel. Anyone have knowledge about this year of engines?
Reliability is very good if maintenance is kept up. You will want to get some fleetguard test strips from any heavy truck dealer or most tractor dealers and check the coolant for SCA levels. These engines have a weak point which will cause pinholing of the cylinder wall if the proper coolant is not used.

I heard Diesels can go 300000 miles. Is this true?
And then some :)

·
Registered
20,672 Posts
You do not mention what axle ratio or transmission you have..... they will be the deciding factor as to what you can tow......